Ramadan Mubarak!

20130710-172918.jpg

For all those who do not know, Ramadan is the fasting period in Islam, which goes on for 30 days from sunrise to sunset. Today is the first fast of Ramadan, and this year it is for 19 hours! Very long, very difficult but definitely not unbearable. I love Ramadan, it’s my favourite time of year which some of you might find quite odd to read because it’s a period without any food or drink, and I do love food a lot. But I love Ramadan more, because it’s the time of year I feel strong, and proud of what I’m doing, I feel this sense of accomplishment when I open my fast, and I feel an even stronger sense of faith when I think of the reasons behind the Islamic fasting period which is mainly the idea of us being lucky, to have such ease in gaining food, and the great advantage we use it unlike millions of people who aren’t as fortunate.

And it makes me feel closer to everyone else, for we all eat at the same time, there’s this idea of community, we’re not fasting as individuals we’re fasting together. We pray together, we eat together, and we fast together. That’s why I love Ramadan, because it’s the time of month where everything is so much better in my mind.

I read this passage that I think genuinely describes why I love Ramadan:

20130710-173923.jpg

to those who are fasting how are you finding it so far?

Leave a Reply

